Olive Beatrice Stanton Award for Excellence in Teaching

2021 Saunderson & Stanton Awards Call for Nominations (.pdf)
2021 Stanton Award Guidelines (.pdf)

This award recognizes an outstanding University of Manitoba educator who has demonstrated continuing teaching excellence and who made contributions to advancing teaching and learning at the U of M.

The Award consists of a plaque and a monetary award of $5,000. The recipient will be included in the Convocation Ceremony and will also deliver a presentation within the U of M New Faculty Orientation.

First offered in 1968, the Olive Beatrice Stanton Award for Excellence in Teaching is presented annually at May convocation to an outstanding teacher. The $5,000 award is provided from revenue from Mrs. Stanton’s bequest to the University.

Erin KeatingEnglish, Theatre, Film & Media2020
Arran CazaBusiness Administration2019
Darja BarrMathematics2018
Dr. Horace LuongScience, Chemistry2017
Dr. Gerald HeckmanFaculty of Law2016
Nathan GreidanusI.H. Asper School of Business2015
Pauline BroderickCurr. Teaching and Learning2012
Barbara GoodwinNursing2012
Howard HarmatzBusiness Administration2011
Elena SmirnovaChemistry2010
Sergio CarvalhoMarketing2009
Vanessa K. WarneEnglish Film & Theatre2008
Periyapatna S. (Raj) DhruvarajanEconomics2007
Mary Ann StegglesSchool of Art2006
William Z. SchulzEducation2005
Wayne SerebrinEducation2004
David JenkinsonEducation2003
Peter Bailey History2002
Carl MathesonPhilosophy2001
Linda WilsonPsychology2000
Michael CosmopoulosClassics1999
Marianne JohnsonPsychology1999
Reginald A. LitzBusiness Administration1998
Ann Stinner Curriculum: Humanities and Social Sciences1998
Gary MischkeBusiness Management1997
Peter St. JohnEconomics1997
Lee StuesserLaw1996
David M. McKinnonChemistry1995
Scott J. OrmistonMechanical & Industrial Engineering1995
Cliff EdwardsLaw1994
Fred ShoreNative Studies1994
Dean KriellaarsMedical Rehabilitation1993
David WilliamsEnglish1992
Dianne R. JackmanInterior Design1991
Ken McVicarPolitical Studies1990
John D. MundieBusiness Administration1990
Louise KasperFrench & Spanish1989
Donald W. TrimApplied Mathematics1988
William J. BuckwoldAccounting and Finance1987
Geoffrey LambertPolitical Studies1987
John A. BaileyPhilosophy1986
Peter W. CooneyAccounting and Finance1985
Jacob P. RedekoppCurriculum: Humanities and Social Sciences1985
Betty A. JohnsCurriculum: Mathematics and Natural Sciences1984
Rod KuenemanSociology1984
Howard CardElectrical Engineering1983
Wilhelm GuenterAnimal Science1983
William BrisbinEarth Sciences1982
Michael W. NorgroveAccounting and Finance1982
Waldron N. Fox-DecentPolitical Studies1981
Kenneth OsborneCurriculum: Humanities and Social Sciences1981
Stanley C. JayEntomology1980
Brian J. KatzPublic Policy1980
Dennis Orin CooleyEnglish1979
George R. FullerInterior Design1979
Gordon Harland Religion1978
Joan L. IrvineCurriculum: Humanities and Social Sciences1978
Wendy J. DahlgrenPhysical Education1977
Ross HendersonBusiness Administration1977
Ruth E. BerryFamily Studies1976
Arthur M. SchaferPhilosophy1976
Daniel C. AlbasSociology1975
John S. McCallumAccounting and Finance1975
Jack R. LondonLaw1974
Norma E. WalkerFamily Studies1974
J. Geoffrey EalesZoology1973
John A. M. Shaw Pharmacy1973
William H. BrooksHistory1972
Gerald NemiroffLaw1972
David G. MartinPsychology1971
Anna K. StorgaardPlant Science1971
Victor CowieEnglish1970
Grant SimsMechanical Engineering1970
H. LeesMicrobiology1969
David J. LawlessPsychology1968
Tom PetersonPolitical Studies1968
Remote Teaching SupportRead More