Dr. and Mrs. H. H. Saunderson Award for Excellence in Teaching

2021 Saunderson & Stanton Awards Call for Nominations (.pdf)
2021 Saunderson Award Guidelines (.pdf)

This award recognizes an outstanding University of Manitoba educator who has demonstrated continuing teaching excellence and who made contributions to advancing teaching and learning at both the U of M and at the national or international level.

The Award consists of a plaque and a monetary award of $10,000. The recipient will be included in the Convocation Ceremony and will also deliver a presentation within the U of M New Faculty Orientation.

First offered in 1971, the Dr. and Mrs. H. H. Saunderson Award for Excellence in Teaching is presented annually at May convocation to an outstanding teacher. Each year a $10,000 award is provided from revenue from the Saunderson Fund.

Laura MacDonaldSchool of Dental Hygiene2019
Sheryl ZelenitskyHealth Sciences, College of Pharmacy2017
Roisin CossarFaculty of Arts, History2016
Karen BusbyFaculty of Law2015
Robert J. EliasGeological Sciences2012
Subramanian SivaramakrishnanAsper School of Business, Marketing2012
Saumen MandalStatistics2011
Rodney KuenemanSociology2011
Reginald A. LitzBusiness Administration2010
Theresa SullivanSchool of Medical Rehabilitation2009
Malcolm C. SmithAsper School of Business, Marketing2008
Richard HarbeckCurriculum, Teaching and Learning2007
Joan E. DurrantFamily Social Sciences2007
Donald TrimMathematics2006
Robert Emmett FinneganEnglish2006
Brenda CanteloReligion2006
Lynn S. ScrubyFaculty of Nursing2005
Fred J. ShoreNative Studies and Office of University Accessibility2005
Ahmed TazmeenEconomics2004
Heather Gill-RobinsonAnthropology2004
Cheryl HarasymchukPsychology2004
Laura LambEconomics2004
Marcella EatonLandscape Architecture2003
Carla TaylorFoods & Nutrition2003
Michael O’Brien-MoranEnglish2002
David EbertAnthropology2002
Tracy NielsenSociology2001
Gordon O’ConnellPsychology2001
Iryna KonstantiukGerman & Slavic Studies2001
John RempelEnglish2000
Edward ShwedykElectrical & Computer Engineering2000
Thomas BerryMathematics1999
Charles TaxAccounting & Finance1999
Keevin BernsteinInternal Medicine1998
Isobel WatersBotany1998
Attahiru AlfaMechanical & Industrial Engineering1997
Richard HarbeckCurriculum: Humanities & Social Sciences1997
Tee Boon GohSoil Science1996
James E. ParkerMedical Microbiology1996
Terry D. GallowayEntomolgy1995
Paul G. ThomasPolitical Studies1995
Marie EdwardsNursing1994
James GrahamCivil and Geological Engineering1994
Robert MadillInterior Design1993
Wayne SerebrinCurriculum: Humanities and Social Sciences1993
J. HayAnatomy1992
Jennifer ShayBotany1992
Deepak BosePharmacology & Therapeutics1991
Joan L. IrvineCurriculum: Humanities and Social Sciences1991
D. A. McCreaPhysiology1990
C. J. SchwarzStatistics1990
Mary Beth MontcalmPolitical Studies1989
Grant SimsMechanical Engineering1989
Ross HendersonBusiness Administration1988
Waldemar LehnElectrical Engineering1988
Thomas H. HassardSoc. & Preventative Medicine1987
Brian D. MacphersonStatistics1987
M. G. (Ron) BrittonAgricultural Engineering1986
John A. Magill ShawPharmacy1986
T. V. N. PersaudAnatomy1985
Linda WilsonPsychology1985
Marcel BlanchaerBiochemistry1984
Glenn SwiftElectrical Engineering1984
John BateComputer Science1983
John F. BrewsterStatistics1983
Lawrence J. BreenPsychology1982
Norman E. CameronEconomics1982
Ian FergusonInternal Medicine1981
Margery ForgayDental Hygiene1981
Peter ForsterEnvironmental Studies1981
Constance J. BeckerNursing1980
Brenda LoveridgeMedical Rehabilitation1980
Phillip H. OsborneLaw1979
James A. RomeynMedical Microbiology1979
Mina R. McDanielFoods and Nutrition1978
Carl R. NelsonLandscape Architecture1978
C. Gordon DiltsLaw1977
Casimer C. LindseyZoology1977
Gerald FriesenHistory1976
Donald W. TrimApplied Mathematics1976
Harvest HalvorsonMicrobiology1975
Harold PennerPsychiatry1975
S. M. BordenDentistry1974
Gordon RobinsonBotany1974
David N. BurtonMicrobiology1973
Allan R. RonaldMedical Microbiology1973
John L. FinlayHistory1972
Edward I. LeithEarth Sciences1972
Lillian B. AllenFamily Studies1971
Bob AltemeyerPsychology1971
Remote Teaching SupportRead More